The European Union Science Olympiad

This is an Olympiad which is practically based. Each country in the European Union can be represented by up to three teams. Each team consists of three members, who work together to solve problems containing elements of Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

The EUSO is an initiative of the Irish, and the President of EUSO is Mr Michael Cotter, Dublin City University.

The first European Union Science Olympiad was run in Dublin, Ireland, from 6th to 13th April.

The United Kingdom entered 3 pilot teams in this Olympiad. The students came from schools in the South West, who agreed to work together to promote the Olympiad. These schools were Thomas Hardye School, Dorchester, Woodroffe School, Lyme Regis, Winchester College, and Queen Elizabeth’s School, Wimborne. The first three of these were in a position to provide teams and ultimately two teams from Thomas Hardye School, designated UK 1, and UK2, and a team from Woodroffe School, designated UK3 (because of alphabetical order) represented the United Kingdom.

The teams looked at science problems in their own schools, and came together for a day at the spring half-term to meet and train, with their staff and representatives from industry. This training involved team building exercises, a “Belbin” analysis to see how teams would cover all team skills, and finally science problems. The teamwork seemed to be a factor in the success of the UK teams, and it is proposed to take complete teams from individual schools to the next Olympiad, although they will be chosen in national rounds.

The Olympiad competition consisted of two long sessions in the laboratories of DCU. Between These sessions the students and subject mentors were treated to tours of Dublin, and historic sites in the area, together with an evening visit to a folk music centre, where many tried Irish dancing.

Newgrange, 100 years older than Stonehenge Statue of Molly Malone Irish folk group Irish dancing

The UK teams were:

  • UK 1, Jenna Browning, Lucy Greenwood, Richard Pymar
  • UK2 Jonathan Liu, David Thomas, Peter Browne
  • UK3 Ben Moass, Abby Jenkin, Richard Bugler
  • The UK team leaders were:

    Left to Right: Chris, Lin and Diane

    The staff stayed in a hotel on the outskirts of Dublin and the students stayed in a hostel on the banks of the Liffey. All met at O’Shea’s nearby for some meals and also the final banquet.

    Student Hostel O'Shea's

    The students carried out 2 days of experiments; the mentors were able to see the experimental stations, before later discussing the wording of the question papers, which the students were to do the following day.

    At the final presentation we were delighted to find that the United Kingdom were overall winners, with UK3 taking top gold; UK1 a silver, and UK2 a bronze.

    Team 1: Mrs Harwood, Jenna Browning, Richard Pymar, Lucy Greenwood, Mr Sweetland, and student mentor Team 2: Mrs Harwood, David Thomas, Jonathan Liu, Peter Browne, Mr Sweetland, and student mentor Team 3: Mrs Harwood, student mentor, Ben Moass, Abby Jenkin, Richard Bugler, Mr Sweetland
    Teams 1, 2 and 3

    Finally, 3 very tired, but inspired teams flew home to Bournemouth International Airport to meet their families and apparently talking non-stop to them about their experiences for the next few weeks.

    All the teams, their families and friends and representatives of their schools and the Education officials of Dorset were able to meet again at a presentation at County Hall, Dorchester, when Michael Cotter came over to the UK to present a crystal “perpetual trophy”

    Details for entering teams in regional rounds in the UK will be available shortly.